Marketing 229, Blog One: The Ugg-ly Era

What Happened to the Ugg-ly Era?

When I think back to my eighth grade year of middle school, from September of 2009 to June of 2010, there are a few things that come to mind.  First, I think of my love for some of the teachers that I had that year, and then I think about how much that year really impacted me, and helped to shape the person that I am today.  In that year, I learned so much about what it meant to be kind, rather than cool, and I made some new friends that I see regularly to this day.  Beyond my own personal growth, though, I think back to that year and remember (sometimes cringing and painfully) the fashion choices that I made.  The store, Justice, was where half of my wardrobe came from, and the other half stemmed from my experimentation with more “mature” stores, like American Eagle, and Abercrombie.   Regardless of where I shopped, though, or what I wore, I knew that I could count on one thing to be a part of every outfit: Uggs.  My Uggs paired well with all of the clothes that I owned, and were worn faithfully to school almost every day.  Ugg was an incredibly popular company during my eighth grade year, but by my sophomore and junior years of high school, the company seemed to fade.   So, for this blog post, I really want to discover how I would rebrand Uggs.

(Ugg Australia, 2017).

One of the first ways that I would suggest Ugg try to rebrand would be through their acknowledgment and advertisement that they do not kill sheep for the boots.  Uggs are made from merino sheep, which the company only shears; it is also a known fact that sheep are more comfortable without their heavy wool coats (Spencer, 2011).  When rebranding a company, emotional leverage can be crucial.  Successful differentiation in commoditized categories will almost always require that a company find ways to provide more emotional reason to prefer the brand (Geyer, 2009).  For companies, emotional leverage can help a great deal with increasing customer credibility, and the emotional bonds created then provide a platform to charge more than their competition (Geyer, 2009).  Going hand-in-hand with this concept is the idea of brand equity, which our book describes as “a set of characteristics that are unique to a brand” (Clow & Baack, 2014).  Brand equity means that products or services from a certain company are different, better, and more trustworthy than a different company (Clow & Baack, 2014).  In Ugg’s case, brand equity would be important in rebranding, as it would be needed to draw people back in, showing that they still have the market on boots.

TOP FIVE:

  • Ugg doesn’t kill sheep
  • Emotional leverage – very important
  • Emotional leverage creates emotional bonds, which increases customer credibility
  • Brand equity – when a company is better, and more trustworthy, than other companies
  • Ugg could use brand equity and emotional leverage to draw in new customers

Stemming from the concept of Ugg having the market on boots, I think that in Ugg’s rebranding process, they could do quite a bit to make sure that they’re staying up-to-date on the popular tends of the day.  One of the trends that I have noticed that seems to have taken over Uggs boots is that of riding boots.  Whereas my eighth grade year consisted of me only wearing Uggs, I now find myself pairing most of my outfits with a pair of riding boots.  After browsing through Ugg’s website, I noticed that many of their boots aren’t in styles that I would necessarily purchase; rather, they are still producing many Ugg-style boots, and few riding boots (Ugg , 2017).  One of the best ways that they could rebrand would be by creating, and adding in, some new riding boot options from their company.  Ugg does make fantastic boots, but I don’t notice them being worn nearly as much as they were six, or seven, years ago.  Understanding your audience is very important when it comes to rebranding, so I would suggest to Ugg that they try to further evaluate who they want to market their products to.  My mom still wears her Ugg boots quite a bit, as do a lot of her friends; people my age, though, seem to be less enthralled with Uggs than they used to be.  In the rebranding process, it is important to decide who you’re trying to reach out to, and who already loves your brand (Helmrich, 2016).  A company that rebrands has to make sure that they’re gaining attention for their new look, but not losing the key customers that have held the company, and the bottom line, intact (Helmrich, 2016).  Ugg has always had a strong following, due to the fact that their products are known to be well-made.  With all of the changes that I would suggest to Ugg, the one thing that I would highly suggest they monitor would be their trust.  Retail customers value trust, which represents the customer’s belief in the effectiveness and reliability of the brand (Clow & Baack, 2014).  So, if Ugg were to create new boots that might interest my age group, and their fashion concepts, it would be important that Ugg remain a respectable and reliable company; without this, Ugg’s rebranding would not nearly work quite as well.

TOP FIVE

  • Ugg has to become more up-to-date
  • Not producing many riding boots; company produces more Ugg-styled boots
  • It is important to reach out to new customers, while not losing the customers who already love the brand
  • Ugg has a strong following, due to their well-made products
  • Customers value trust, which shows the effectiveness and reliability of the brand and company

 

 

Clow & Baack, K. &. (2014). Integrating Advertising, Promotion, and Marketing Communications. Retrieved from Pearson: https://view.ebookplus.pearsoncmg.com/ebook/launcheText.do?values=bookID::17975::platform::1030::bookPageNumber::0::fromloginpage::N::invokeType::lms::launchState::goToEBook::platform::1030::userID::15937879::scenario::11::scenarioid::scenario11::courseid

Geyer, F. (2009, March 24). Four Best-Practices for Renovating Your Brand—Before It’s Too Late. Retrieved from MarketingProfs: http://www.marketingprofs.com/9/best-practices-for-renovating-your-brand-geyer.asp

Helmrich, B. (2016, February 4). 10 Tips for Successfully Rebranding Your Business. Retrieved from Business News Daily: http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/8764-business-rebranding-tips.html

Spencer, C. (2011, May 25). Ugg Boots: The Controversial Fashion Trend. Retrieved from The Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/chloe-spencer/ugg-boots-the-controversi_b_742649.html

Ugg . (2017). Women’s Boots. Retrieved from Ugg: http://www.ugg.com/women-boots/#prefn1=shoeType&prefv1=classic-boots

Ugg Australia. (2017). Ugg Australia. Retrieved from Boots Australia US: http://www.bootsaustraliaus.com/

 

Leave a Reply

